News

Our lawyers actively cooperate with leading business media, both domestic and international. As renown experts on a wide range of topics connected with resolution of disputes in Russia we are invited to provide comments and expert opinions on current news, author articles and publications in the press, and take part in key events of the professional legal community across the globe.
RKP secures victory in a precedent-setting dispute with Google
15 february 2020

The Rustam Kurmaev & Partners (RKP) legal team, partner Dmitry Kletochkin and senior associate Kirill Baranovskiy, successfully defended in court the interests of the top management of a major Russian group of companies seeking to have illegally distributed, false and outdated information about it removed from the Internet.

On February 13, 2020, the cassation court upheld the lower courts’ rulings and agreed with the position that the erroneous and outdated information about RKP’s client should be deleted from Google search engine results. The successful outcome of this difficult case is of great significance not just for the client’s business reputation; it also marks a shift away from earlier negative court rulings in similar cases.

According to Article 10.3 of the Federal Law “On Information, Information Technology and Defense of Information”, Article 5 of the Federal Law “On Personal Data” and Article 23 of the Constitution of the Russian Federation, and also in agreement with the European Court of Human Rights’ legal approach, every person has the right to privacy as well as the right to defend their reputation and good name. Distribution on the internet of information that is outdated, false or invalidated by subsequent events is a direct violation of the laws listed above.

“The right to be forgotten is the right of individuals to have search engines remove internet pages with information about those individuals from their search results. Major search engines have differing views on this topic. In our case, the reason for going to court was Google’s refusal to remove information which the client believed to be defamatory and damaging to his business reputation,” Kirill Baranovskiy explained.

Rustam Kurmaev & Partners is a leading Russian law firm in the area of dispute resolution. The firm was founded in October 2017 as an independent team of litigation experts with a focus on commercial disagreements, corporate conflicts, white collar crime and disputes with government authorities. RKP’s expertise in providing comprehensive legal defense services to senior and top executives of leading Russian and international companies has been confirmed by its Pravo-300, Legal500 EMEA, and Chambers & Partners Global rankings.

Пресс-центр

Юристы и адвокаты «РКП» активно сотрудничают с ведущими деловыми СМИ, выступают в роли экспертов в вопросах правового регулирования, комментируют актуальные новости и публикуют статьи в профильных изданиях, а также принимают участие в ключевых мероприятиях юридического сообщества в России и за рубежом.
Право на забвение: РКП меняет негативную практику в споре с Google
15 февраля 2020

Команда «Рустам Курмаев и партнеры» (партнер фирмы Дмитрий Клеточкин и старший юрист Кирилл Барановский) успешно осуществила судебную защиту интересов топ-менеджмента крупного российского холдинга в спорах об удалении незаконно распространяемой, неверной и неактуальной информации из сети «Интернет».

13 февраля 2020 года кассационный суд поддержал решения нижестоящих судов, согласившись с позицией о том, что недостоверная и неактуальная информация о клиенте «РКП» подлежит удалению из результатов запросов поисковой системы Google. Победа в этом сложном споре имеет существенное значение не только для защиты деловой репутации клиента, но и для изменения негативной судебной практики по такого рода делам.

В соответствии со ст. 10.3 ФЗ «Об информации, информационных технологиях и о защите информации», ст. 5 ФЗ «О персональных данных», ст. 23 Конституции Российской Федерации, а также согласно правовым подходам ЕСПЧ гражданин имеет право на неприкосновенность частной жизни, защиту своей чести и доброго имени. Распространение в сети «Интернет» информации, которая является неактуальной, недостоверной и утратившей значение в силу последующих событий, является прямым нарушением вышеприведенных положений закона.

«Право на забвение — это возможность потребовать у поисковых сервисов удаления интернет-страниц с информацией о вас из результатов поиска. Крупные поисковые системы придерживаются разных позиций по теме. В нашем случае причиной обращения в суд послужил отказ Google исключить информацию, которую клиент посчитал диффамационной и оказывающей негативное влияние на его деловую репутацию», - прокомментировал Кирилл Барановский.

Юридическая фирма «Рустам Курмаев и партнеры» - лидер в области разрешения споров на российском рынке юридических услуг. Фирма создана в октябре 2017 года как независимая команда правовых экспертов в области разрешения споров с особым акцентом на коммерческие споры, корпоративные конфликты, уголовно-правовую защиту бизнеса и споры с государственными органами. Экспертиза фирмы по обеспечению комплексной защиты руководителей и топ-менеджмента ведущих российских и зарубежных компаний подтверждена рейтингами Право-300, The Legal500 EMEA, Chambers & Partners Global.