News

Our lawyers actively cooperate with leading business media, both domestic and international. As renown experts on a wide range of topics connected with resolution of disputes in Russia we are invited to provide comments and expert opinions on current news, author articles and publications in the press, and take part in key events of the professional legal community across the globe.
Rustam Kurmaev served as an ICAC arbitrator with the Chamber of Commerce and Industry of the Russian Federation
25 july 2019

The International Commercial Arbitration Court (ICAC) at the Chamber of Commerce and Industry of the Russian Federation is Russia’s leading permanent arbitration institution. It primarily administers international commercial arbitration and is the successor to the Foreign Trade Arbitration Commission established at the USSR’s Chamber of Commerce in 1932. The ICAC is one of world’s largest and most reputable arbitration centres, and is recognised by both Russian and foreign businesses. In 1999, the ICAC became a member of the International Federation of Commercial Arbitration Institutions (IFCA) which celebrated its 85th anniversary in 2017. The ICAC has arbitrated over 10,000 cases to date.

“This is not my only experience of arbitrating at the ICAC and, hopefully, not the last one; every time it is a great honour and pleasure for me to arbitrate alongside such renowned civil law scholars as E.A. Sukhanov. I am particularly happy to see that the award has suited both parties and that the arbitration itself was exemplary compared to what one often sees in courts of law.”

The ICAC administers international commercial arbitration. Parties may submit to the ICAC disputes arising out of contractual and other civil relations occurring in the course of international trade and other business operations (including disputes involving individuals) where the commercial enterprise of at least one party or the subject matter of the dispute is located abroad or a substantial portion of the obligations arising out of the parties’ relations must be performed abroad, as well as disputes related to making foreign investments in the Russian Federation or Russian investments abroad.

Rustam Kurmaev specializes in commercial and corporate disputes and in the defence of businesses in criminal cases. He is well-known for his professionalism in providing legal support to companies in disputes with public authorities, including law-enforcement authorities, and is a recognized compliance expert. His extensive experience in representing Russian and foreign companies in arbitrazh courts and courts of general jurisdiction, including the Supreme Arbitrazh Court of the Russian Federation and the Supreme Court of the Russian Federation, has made Rustam a widely recognized specialist in ensuring the enforcement of court decisions through both the applicable statutory procedures (enforcement process and bankruptcy proceedings) and through alternative procedures (mediation).

Пресс-центр

Юристы и адвокаты «РКП» активно сотрудничают с ведущими деловыми СМИ, выступают в роли экспертов в вопросах правового регулирования, комментируют актуальные новости и публикуют статьи в профильных изданиях, а также принимают участие в ключевых мероприятиях юридического сообщества в России и за рубежом.
Рустам Курмаев выступил в роли арбитра МКАС при ТПП РФ
25 июля 2019

Международный коммерческий арбитражный суд при Торгово-промышленной палате Российской Федерации (МКАС) – ведущее в России постоянно действующее арбитражное учреждение, администрирующее преимущественно международный коммерческий арбитраж, правопреемник Внешнеторговой арбитражной комиссии, образованной при Всесоюзной торговой палате в 1932 году. МКАС входит в число наиболее крупных и авторитетных арбитражных центров мира, признанных как отечественными, так и зарубежными предпринимателями. С 1999 года МКАС является членом Международной федерации коммерческих арбитражных институтов (МФКАИ). В 2017 году МКАС исполнилось 85 лет. Всего за эти годы МКАС было рассмотрено более 10 000 дел.

«Это не единственный и, надеюсь, не последний опыт участия в разбирательствах в МКАС при ТПП РФ в роли арбитра, но каждый раз это большая честь и удовольствие принимать участие в процессе наряду с такими классиками современной цивилистики, как Е. А. Суханов. В особенности приятно, что решение арбитража устроило обе стороны разбирательства, а сам процесс являлся образцово-показательным по сравнению с тем, что часто встречают стороны, сталкиваясь с системой государственных судов.»

МКАС администрирует международный коммерческий арбитраж. По соглашению сторон в МКАС могут передаваться споры из договорных и иных гражданско-правовых отношений, возникающие при осуществлении внешнеторговых и иных видов международных экономических связей, в том числе споры с участием физических лиц, если коммерческое предприятие хотя бы одной стороны находится за границей либо если любое место, где должна быть исполнена значительная часть обязательств, вытекающих из отношений сторон, или место, с которым наиболее тесно связан предмет спора, находится за границей, а также споры в связи с осуществлением иностранных инвестиций на территории Российской Федерации или российских инвестиций за границей.

Рустам Курмаев специализируется в области разрешения коммерческих и корпоративных споров, а также судебных разбирательств в сфере уголовно-правовой защиты бизнеса. Он хорошо известен своим профессионализмом в области юридического сопровождения компаний в спорах с государственными органами, включая правоохранительные органы, а также является признанным экспертом по вопросам соблюдения антикоррупционного законодательства (compliance). Обладая значительным опытом представления интересов российских и иностранных компаний в арбитражных судах и судах общей юрисдикции, включая Высший Арбитражный Суд РФ и Верховный Суд РФ, Рустам является общепризнанным специалистом по вопросам обеспечения исполнения судебного решения как предусмотренными законом процедурами (исполнительное производство и банкротство), так и путем применения альтернативных инструментов (медиация).