News

Our lawyers actively cooperate with leading business media, both domestic and international. As renown experts on a wide range of topics connected with resolution of disputes in Russia we are invited to provide comments and expert opinions on current news, author articles and publications in the press, and take part in key events of the professional legal community across the globe.
St. Petersburg International Legal Forum 2019
20 may 2019

Rustam Kurmaev & Partners supported the IX St. Petersburg International Legal Forum (SPILF) which took place in Russia’s northern capital on 13–19 May 2019. Partners Rustam Kurmaev, Dmitry Gorbunov, and Dmitry Kletochkin participated as experts in the Forum’s key events on dispute resolution, business defence in criminal proceedings, and development of the legal profession in Russia and abroad.

On Monday 13 May, Dmitry Gorbunov, Partner, Rustam Kurmaev & Partners, spoke at the conference titled Personal Liability in Business as a Law Enforcement Vector organized by the Corporate Counsel Association (CCA) (Ballroom, Astoria Hotel). Dmitry focused on decriminalization of certain economic crimes and, in particular, noted that he understood decriminalization as the legal requalification of some criminal offences as administrative, disciplinary or other offences or even lawful acts. Dmitry believes that the legal and economic point of decriminalization is to structure the legislative system of the state, to account for social factors in dispute resolution, to create a clear and transparent legal environment for business, and to make the national market more attractive to investors.

Rustam Kurmaev, Managing Partner, Rustam Kurmaev & Partners, and Dmitry Kletochkin, Partner, Rustam Kurmaev & Partners, participated in the breakfast meeting Personal Liability and Risks for Company Managers and Beneficial Owners held in cooperation with Kommersant Publishing House immediately before the Forum’s panel session on Wednesday 15 May at the SPILF headquarters. Rustam and Dmitry gave a joint speech on The Pendulum of Personal Liability: from Partnerships to Joint-stock Companies and Back – Where Debts Come From.

The second landmark event of the Forum’s opening day was the Forbes private breakfast meeting Decriminalization of Commercial Disputes: How Long Must Business Remain under the Threat of Criminal Persecution. This breakfast also featured RKP partners – citing the example of the high-profile case involving Baring Vostok Capital Partners, Dmitry Gorbunov and Dmitry Kletochkin shared their vision of the situation around decriminalization of business crimes and the steps to be taken in the first place to improve this law enforcement practice.

On Thursday 16 May, Pravo.RU held a roundtable discussion The Most Significant Litigation Cases – 2018-2019 devoted to the recent most high-profile litigations. Leading court attorneys from Russia and the UK were invited to participate in the event. Rustam Kurmaev discussed Recovery of Losses from a Replacement Transaction drawing on the example of the so-called “rail car case”, this year’s major litigation case involving RKP attorneys.

The programme of the Forum events and the speakers’ biographies are available on the SPILF official website.

Пресс-центр

Юристы и адвокаты «РКП» активно сотрудничают с ведущими деловыми СМИ, выступают в роли экспертов в вопросах правового регулирования, комментируют актуальные новости и публикуют статьи в профильных изданиях, а также принимают участие в ключевых мероприятиях юридического сообщества в России и за рубежом.
«Рустам Курмаев и партнеры» на ПМЮФ-2019
20 мая 2019

Юридическая фирма «Рустам Курмаев и партнеры» поддержала Петербургский Международный Юридический Форум (ПМЮФ), который прошел в Северной столице с 13 по 19 мая 2019 года. Партнеры фирмы Рустам Курмаев, Дмитрий Горбунов и Дмитрий Клеточкин выступили в роли экспертов на ключевых мероприятиях ПМЮФ, посвященных разрешению споров, уголовно-правовой защите бизнеса и развитию юридической профессии в РФ и за рубежом.

В понедельник 13 мая партнер «Рустам Курмаев и партнеры» Дмитрий Горбунов выступил на конференции Объединения Корпоративных Юристов России (ОКЮР), озаглавленной «Персональная ответственность в хозяйственной деятельности как вектор правоприменения» в отеле «Астория». Доклад Дмитрия был посвящен теме декриминализации экономических составов преступлений. Так, он отметил, что под декриминализацией понимает юридическую переквалификацию части уголовно наказуемых деяний и перевод их в разряд административных, дисциплинарных и иных правонарушений либо правомерных действий. По мнению Дмитрия, правовой и экономический смысл декриминализации состоит в структурировании законодательной системы государства, в интеграции социальной составляющей в разрешение споров, в создании понятной правовой среды для бизнеса и повышении инвестиционной привлекательности национального рынка.

Управляющий партнер Рустам Курмаев и партнер «РКП» Дмитрий Клеточкин приняли участие в бизнес-завтраке «Личная ответственность и риски менеджмента и бенефициаров компаний». Мероприятие, организованное при поддержке издательского дома «КоммерсантЪ», состоялось непосредственно перед Пленарной сессией форума в среду 15 мая в Главном штабе ПМЮФ. В ходе совместного выступления Рустам и Дмитрий осветили тему «Маятник личной ответственности – от товариществ к акционерным обществам – как возникают долги».

Второе знаковое мероприятие открывающего дня Форума - бизнес-завтрак Forbes «Правоприменительная практика в области декриминализации экономических споров» - также состоялось при участии партнеров «РКП». Дмитрий Горбунов и Дмитрий Клеточкин на примере нашумевшего дела Baring Vostok Capital Partners поделились своим мнением относительно ситуации с процессом декриминализации в сфере экономических преступлений, а также действий, которые необходимо осуществить в качестве базиса для улучшения правоприменительной практики.

В четверг 16 мая состоялся круглый стол Право.RU «Актуальные споры 2018-2019», посвященный наиболее резонансным судебным разбирательствам прошедшего года. К выступлению на мероприятии были приглашены ведущие судебные юристы России и Великобритании. Рустам Курмаев выступил с темой «Взыскание убытков по замещающей сделке» на примере так называемого «Дела о вагонах» - крупного коммерческого спора текущего года с участием юристов «РКП».

Программа деловых мероприятий Форума и биографии спикеров доступны на официальном сайте ПМЮФ.